2015 U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon

Solar-Decathlon-LogoAn engineer friend of mine brought a competition to my attention today.  It’s called the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon.  To briefly summarize the history and purpose of the competition – The first competition took place in 2002 and has been ongoing biannually.  Roughly 20 university-led teams compete to design, build, and operate a solar powered house that is “cost-effective, energy-efficient, and attractive”.  The list of schools for the 2015 competition include:

California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

California State University, Sacramento

– Clemson University

Crowder College and Drury University

Missouri University Science and Technology

New York City College of Technology

State University of New York at Alfred College of Technology and Alfred University

Stevens Institute of Technology

University of Florida, National University of Singapore, and Santa Fe College

The University of Texas at Austin and Technische Universitaet Muenchen

University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

University of California, Davis

University of California, Irvine; Saddleback College; Chapman University; and Irvine Valley College

Vanderbilt University and Middle Tennessee State University

West Virginia University and University of Roma Tor Vergata

Western New England University, Universidad Tecnologica de Panama, and Universidad Tecnologica Centraoamericana

-Yale University


Each team is building a unique house in their respective communities.  I linked each team page for more information.  Most show and discuss their progress, as well as the students behind the efforts.  After two years, the winners (there are 10 contents) are announced out in Irvine, California from October 8th-18th.  Best of luck to the teams and I look forward to seeing the results.

Previous Winners Gallery: